Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– Twelve municipalities across the country are going to polls on Thursday amid tight security, officials said.

The municipalities are Parbatipur, Magura, Charfashion, Madhabdi, Jajira, Madan, Madaripur, Daganbhuiyan, Cox’s Bazar, Moheshkhali, Teknaf and Chakoria.

A total of 74 mayoral candidates are contesting in the elections to the 12 municipalities while the number of candidates for councillors is 175 (reserved for women) and 587 (general).

The polls of the municipalities were supposed to be held by January 18, but the commission rescheduled the elections due to legal complexities.

Meanwhile, elections in 242 out of 309 municipalities across the country were held between January 12 and 18 this year.

BBN/SI/AD-27Jan11-10:40 am (BST)