Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN) – The government on Tuesday reshuffled 21 of its secretaries, four of whom were made officers on special duties (OSD), officials said.

Information Secretary Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury was transferred to education ministry replacing the newly appointed Education Secretary Mosharraf Hossain Bhuiyan who came from the Economic Relations Division (ERD), an Establishment Ministry circular said.

Cultural Secretary Hedayetullah Al Mamun was transferred to the Information Ministry while secretary to the War of Liberation Affairs Ministry Ujjal Bikash Dutta to the Fisheries and Livestock Ministry and Fisheries and Livestock Secretary Sharful Alam made OSD at the Establishment Ministry.

Former chairman of Bangladesh Textile Mills Corporation (BTMC) Mizanur Rahman was posted to the Liberation War Affairs Ministry as its acting secretary while Relief and Disaster Management Secretary Mokhlesur Rahman transferred to the Land Ministry and Land Secretary Ataharul Islam made OSD.

Director general of Land Survey and Record Directorate M Aslam Alam was made secretary-in-charge to the Relief and Disaster Management Division while secretary to the Planning Division made the secretary of the Implementation, Monitoring and Evaluation Division (IMED).

Secretary to the Primary and Mass Education Department (PMED) Abu Alam Mohammad Shahid Khan was made secretary to the Local Government Division while LGRD Secretary Manjur Hossain made secretary to the Planning Division.

Chairman of the Land Reforms Board AKM Abdul Awal Majumder was transferred to the PMED as its secretary while additional secretary to the PMED Suraiya Begum was made acting secretary to the Cultural Ministry.

Transport commissioner of the government transport pool Md Ebad Ali was made acting member of the Planning Commission while director general (DG) of the Employees Welfare Board Golam Kuddus was made acting secretary to the Rural Development and Cooperatives Division.

Additional secretary to the Establishment Ministry Dr Mohammad Sadique was made acting secretary to the Election Commission while rector of the Public Administration Training Centre (PATC) Md Delwar Hossain made chairman to the Land Reforms Board while additional secretary to the PATC Mesbaul Alam made acting rector of that organization.

Secretary to the Rural Development and Cooperatives Rokeya Sultana was made member, Privatization Commission, while IMED Secretary Abdul Malek and Member Planning Commission Nasir Uddin Ahmed were made OSD and transferred to the Establishment Ministry.

Tuesday’s was the second major reshuffle in the civil bureaucracy since the Awami League-led government took over the rein of the administration in January 2009. The latest move came within a week of rearranging the entire police department.

BBN/SSR/AD-20Oct10-1:06 am (BST)