Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– Anis A. Khan, Managing Director and Chief Executive Office (CEO) of the Mutual Trust Bank Limited has been elected the Chairperson of the SWIFT member and user group of Bangladesh for 2014-2016.

Ali Reza Iftekhar, Managing Director & CEO of the Eastern Bank Limited was elected as the Vice Chairperson, while A M M Farhad, Deputy Managing Director of Social Islami Bank Limited –  the Secretary General.

The election to the 15 member executive committee was held on Wednesdayat a local hotel in the capital Dhaka following the Annual General Meeting of the Group, at which the new constitution was formally adopted.

Md. Arfan Ali, Deputy Managing Director of Bank Asia Limited and Acting Chairperson of the Group chaired the AGM. K Mahmood Sattar, Former Chairperson of the Group and former Chairman of the Association of Bankers Bangladesh announced the results of the election as the Election Commissioner.

The full committee is Anis A. Khan, Chairperson,  Ali Reza Iftekhar, Vice Chairperson, A M M Farhad, Secretary General, Md. Abul Kalam Azad, Head of International Division, ICB Islamic Bank Limited – Joint Secretary General, Syed Md. Masum, Head of International Division, NCC Bank Limited- Treasurer, Sohrab Mustafa, Head of International Division, United Commercial Bank Limited- Joint Treasurer, EC members – Nominee of Bangladesh Bank, Pradip Kumar Dutta, Managing Director & CEO, Sonali Bank Limited, Dr. Syed Abdul Hamid, Managing Director & CEO, Agrani Bank Limited, S. M. Aminur Rahman, CEO & Managing Director, Janata Bank Limited, Mohammad Abdul Mannan, Managing Director, Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited, Shafiqul Alam, Managing Director, Jamuna Bank Limited, Syed Mahbubur Rahman, Managing Director & CEO, BRAC Bank Limited, Md. Arfan Ali, Deputy Managing Director, Bank Asia Limited, and A K M Shameem, Deputy Managing Director, The Farmers Bank Limited.

BBN/SSR/AD-08Aug14-9:48 pm (BST)