Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– Bangla Academy has announced its literary award for 2011 in nine fields of literature.
Dr Shamsuzzaman Khan, director general of the academy, named the 10 winners of Bangla Academy Sahitya Award 2011 at its premises on Saturday.
Asim Saha and Kamal Chowdhury got the prize in poetry, Anisul Haque in fiction, Abdullah Abu Sayeed in essay, Bishwajit Ghosh in research, Khaliquzzaman Ilias in translation, Belal Mohammad in writings on Liberation War, Baren Chakrabarty in biography and adventure, Ali Asgar in science-technology and environment and Akhter Hussain in children’s literature.
No award, however, was announced for drama.
Each of the winners will receive a cash award of BDT 100,000, a certificate and a crest at a ceremony on February 24.
BBN/SSR/AD-19Feb12-9:20 am (BST)