Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the final 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup Cricket leaving out pacer Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.
Chief selector Rafiqul Alam announced the squad at a crowded press conference at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in the city’s Mirpur on Wednesday.
The 15-member World Cup squad includes Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Tamim Iqbal (vice-captain), Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Shahriar Nafees, Raqibul Hasan, Mohammad Ashraful, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naeem Islam, Mahmudullah, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain and Suhrawadi Shuvo.
The selectors kept faith on former national skipper Mohammed Ashraful in the last moment replacing all-rounder Alok Kapali. Ashraful was inducted in the final squad considering his previous experience of playing World Cup. Kapali was overlooked due to his poor form and prolong absence from international cricket. 
Mortaza had his right knee injured while playing Premier Cricket League in December 2010 and was striving to recover in time for the tournament. He started bowling off a short run-up during net sessions during the last few days. But the selectors decided against his inclusion for the campaign. Shakib Al Hasan was named captain of the squad and Tamim Iqbal the deputy. 
Mortaza, however, has the chance to be included in the team later if he fully recovers and an opportunity arises, chief selector Rafiqul Alam said.
Bangladesh has been placed in group B in ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 will play the inaugural match against strong India on February 19, the 2nd against Ireland on February 25, the 3rd against West Indies on March 4, all at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium (SBNS) in Dhaka.
The Bengal tigers will play their 4th and 5th group matches against England and Netherlands on March 11 and 14 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong.
The hosts will play their last group match against South Africa on March 19 at SBNS in Dhaka.
BBN/SI/AD-19Jan11-9:34 pm (BST)