Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN) – The Bangladesh Bank (BB) awarded noted economists Dr. Professor Muzaffer Ahmed and Dr. Swadesh Ranjan Bose posthumously on Wednesday for their outstanding contribution in the field of economics.
Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith handed over crests, gold medals and cheques worth BDT 1,00,000 each to their wives at a function which was held at Bangladesh Bank Training Academy in capital Dhaka.
Bangladesh Bank Award-2013 has been conferred on Professor Dr. Muzaffer Ahmad and on Dr. Swadesh Ranjan Bose for their distinctive contribution for the country’s socio-economic development.
BB Governor Dr Atiur Rahman chaired the programme while arficultur minister,  economists and chief executive officers of the commercial banks and non-banking financial institutions graced the ceremony.
Chairman of Palli Karma Shahayak Foundation (PKSF) Dr Qazi Koliquzzaman Ahmed, Director General of Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM) Dr Toufic Ahmed Chowdhury, Director General of Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS) Dr Mustafa Kamal Mujeri and family members of the two late economists attended the programme and spoke on the occasion.
Professor Dr Muzaffer Ahmad was an economist best known for his diverse researches on industry, education, international economics, public enterprises, human rights, health economics, labour relations, good governance, rural development and poverty reduction and environmental issues. He was also awarded the Ekushey Padak in 2008. Dr Ahmed died in 2012.

Dr Swadesh Ranjan Bose contributed to reshaping the economy of the war-torn Bangladesh. Throughout his life-time, he studied on reducing financial and social disparity for achieving economic emancipation of the people of the newly independent country.
Bangladesh Economic Association (BEA) in 2010 awarded him the gold medal (posthumously). He was also awarded the Independence Day Award in 2013 (posthumously). Dr Bose died in 2009.

Introduced in 2000, Bangladesh Bank Award was conferred on Professor Rehman Sobhan in 2000, Dr Nurul Islam in 2009 and Professor Dr Mosharaff Hossain in 2011.

BBN/SSR/AD-20Aug14-9:41 pm (BST)