Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– Dr Abul Barakat and Dr. Jamaluddin Ahmed FCA have been elected president and general secretary of Bangladesh Economic Association (BEA) for the next two-year term.

Md. Mostafizur Rahman Sarder was also re-elected treasurer for 2018-2019.

Dr. Barkat is a professor in the Department of Economics, University of Dhaka. In addition to his teaching, from 2009 to 2014, he was the Chairman of second largest state-owned Janata Bank Limited. He is a freedom fighter.

Dr. Jamaluddin Ahmed is a Chartered Accountant and the fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Bangladesh (ICAB) since 1990. He has many years of experience in the financial sector of Bangladesh. Dr. Ahmed is also a director of Bangladesh Bank.

A panel titled ‘Economics for the People’, led by Dr Abul Barakat and Dr. Jamaluddin Ahmed, won the mandate of BEA members for 28 posts including president and general secretary out of total posts 29 in an election held at the Institution of Diploma Engineers Bangladesh (IDEB) in Dhaka during the 20th biennial conference concluded on Saturday.

The conference of BAE ended on the day with highlighting the need for ethical practice to ensure a balanced and sustainable development of the country.

Speaker of the Bangladesh National Parliament Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury inaugurated the three-day long conference on Thursday with giving emphasise on ensuring coordination between economics and morality that is necessary to build a poverty and discrimination free society.

The voting started in a festive mood at 9:00 am and ended at 4:30 pm. A total of 35 candidates contested for the posts.

The members also elected vice presidents: AZM Saleh, Professor Hannana Begum, Dr. Mohammad Abul Hossain, AFM Shariful Islam and Md. Abdul Hanan

Dr. Md. Liakat Hossain Moral and Badrul Munir were elected Joint Secretary while Mozamel Hoque, Sahanara Begum, Meherunnesa, Noshad Mostofa and Sk. Ali Ahmed were elected Assistant Secretary.

Professor Dr. M. Moazzem Hossain Khan, Dr. Mohammad Mamon, Professor Dr. Md. Saidur Rahman, Professor Dr. Md. Alamgir Hossain Bhuiya , SM Rashidul Islam, Syed Asraul Haque, Syeda Nazma Parvin Papri, Md. Habibul Islam, Md. Jahangir Alam, Monsur M Y Chowdhury, Partha Sarathee Ghosh, Professor Subhash Kumar Sengupta and Nesar Ahmed were elected Member of the Executive Committee.