Chittagong, Bangladesh (BBN)-Tigers started their last Test match against visiting Zimbabwe in Chittagong on Wednesday eyeing an achievement of first 3-0 series whitewash.
Bangladesh set the aim after winning their third-ever Test cricket series against Zimbabwe.
To maintain the domination, Tigers have scored 303 runs losing two wickets on day 1.
The opening partners – Tamin Iqbal and Imrul Kayes – both made history in the Bangladesh Test cricket attaining centuries.
After tea, Tamim was out at 109 while Kayes at 130.
Mominul Haque and Mahmudullah remained in the crease.
Earlier in the morning, Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat.
Earlier, Bangladesh won the first Test in three days in Dhaka, and the second by 162 runs in Khulna last week, adding to a 1-0 two-Test series win against the same team in 2005.
Bangladesh have swept a series only once in their 14-year Test history when they defeated an under-strength West Indies in both matches in the Caribbean in 2009.
In the 87 Tests they have played so far since their debut in 2000, Bangladesh have won just six matches, lost 70 and drawn 11.
Zimbabwe have yielded to spin in the matches, and Bangladesh may field only one fast bowler because the Chittagong pitch tends to become slow and low.
Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor hoped his batsmen and bowlers will shine together to reverse the team’s fortunes.
Shakib, who became the third cricketer in Test history to score a century and haul in 10 wickets in the last Test, was simply unplayable for the Zimbabwe batsmen.
But Zimbabwe still hope to nullify his threat, win the Test, and regain some form for the five-match One-day International series.
BANGLADESH: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Shuvagata Hom, Taijul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Jubair Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Marshall Ayub, Anamul Haque.
ZIMBABWE: Sikandar Raza, Brian Chari, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (captain), Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura, Regis Chakabva, Malcolm Waller, Tendai Chatara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Shingi Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Natsai Mushangwe, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda.
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand).
TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka).
Match referee: Chris Broad (England).
BBN/JF/AD-12Nov14-4:45pm (BST)