Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN) – Bangladesh announced a 15-man squad to face India in a one-off Test this month in Hyderabad on Wednesday.
Young left-arm paceman Mustafizur Rahman was dropped, reports One India.
Mushfiqur Rahim will lead the squad in their historic Test against India in Hyderabad from February 9.
An injured Rahim had missed the team’s previous Test against New Zealand in Christchurch last month.
Imrul Kayes and Mominul Haque too had missed the game due to injuries and now all three have returned.
In Rahim’s absence, Tamim Iqbal had captained the side against the Kiwis.
The players will arrive in India tomorrow (February 2). Along with Rahman, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan and Rubel Hossain were also omitted from the squad which previously toured New Zealand last month.
This is the first time that Bangladesh are travelling to India to play a Test.
Bangladesh were awarded Test status in 2000 and their first ever game in the longer format was against India in Dhaka in November 2000.
On January 31, India picked their 16-man squad, led by Virat Kohli.
Bangladesh Test squad 1. Mushfiqur Rahim (captain and wicketkeeper), 2. Tamim Iqbal, 3. Soumya Sarkar, 4. Mahmudullah, 5. Shakib Al Hasan, 6. Mehedi Hasan Miraz, 7. Imrul Kayes, 8. Mominul Haque, 9. Sabbir Rahman, 10. Liton Das (wicketkeeper), 11. Taskin Ahmed, 12. Shuvashish Roy, 13. Taijul Islam, 14. Kamrul Islam Rabbi, 15. Shafiul Islam.