Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)-Visiting South Africa crushed Bangladesh by 31 runs in the second T20 international of the two-match series in Dhaka on Tuesday.
The hosts could attain only 138 runs losing all wickets in 19.2 overs against the target of 170-run at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur of Dhaka.Faf du Plessis was selected as the Man of the Series.
Earlier in the first innings, South Africa set a compatible 170-run target for Tigers losing four wickets.
Arafat Sunny at first removed Q de Kock for 44, then Nasir Hossain sent JP Duminy for 6 and AB de Villiers for 40.
Mustafizur Rahman then removed F du Plessis for 16.
Prior to the beginning of the day’s play, the guests, has won the toss and elected to bat first.
The day’s play began at 1:00pm (BST).
Rony Talukdar is making debut for his first international cricket match in place of Sohag Gazi.
On the guests’ side, legspinner Eddie Leie is given a maiden T20 cap with Rabada making way.
Those are the only changes from the first game.
Riding on Faf du Plessis’s half-century stand, South Africa on July 5 won the first T20 match of the two-match series beating Bangladesh by 52 runs at the same venue.
Bangladesh’s main concern during the second and final T20I would be its batting under pressure.
During today’s play, Bangladesh could well turn to spin again to restrict the South Africans, who found the going difficult on a sluggish pitch.
But it will need a combined effort to combat the threat from the World Cup semifinalist.
The two teams will go on to play three ODIs and two Tests after this contest.
Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza*, Shakib Al Hasan, Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Litton Das†, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Rony Talukdar, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Sohag Gazi, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal
South Africa: F du Plessis*, KJ Abbott, Q de Kock†, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, BE Hendricks, E Leie, DA Miller, CH Morris, WD Parnell, AM Phangiso, K Rabada, RR Rossouw, D Wiese