Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– A four-member Bangladesh Davis Cup team reached Iranian capital Tehran on Monday to participate in the 2012 Davis Cup Asia/Oceania Zone Group-3 matches there.
Bangladesh comprises three players –Top seed Amol Lal, Ranjan Ram, Henry Pritul Mondal-and one non playing captain-Sheikh Mainuddin Waliullah Jhelun.
Earlier, Bangladesh Tennis Federation selected a five-member squad for the Davis Cup but another member of the team, Dipu Lal, could not go to Tehran as the Iranian Government refused to provide visa for him.
Later, Bangladesh requested ITF to include Jhelun as playing captain, which will be finalized on Tuesday’s Managers’ meeting.
Eight countries, divided in two groups, will take part in the round robin league basis matches. Participating countries are – Iran, Bangladesh, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Oman Syria and Vietnam.
BBN/SSR/AD-24Apr12-9:00 am (BST)