Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN) – The National Board of Revenue (NBR) is going to introduce online tax payment system from May 26 this year aiming to facilitate taxpayers to pay taxes through online.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to inaugurate the payment system, first-of-its-kind in Bangladesh, on that day.
The National Board of Revenue (NBR) will sign a tri-partite agreement next week with Sonali Bank Limited and Information Technology Consultant Limited (ITCL), a wing of Q-cash.
Tax officials said the tripartite agreement will be signed to simplify and expedite collection of all types of fees and taxes of NBR.
NBR held an introductory meeting of online tax payment at a city hotel on Wednesday. 
A committee of the NBR is working on introducing the online tax payment and tax return system with the financial support of International Finance Corporation (IFC).
NBR, Bangladesh Bank, Sonali Bank and office of the Comptroller and Auditor General of Bangladesh will be co-coordinator of the electronic payment system. Q-cash will be processor of the whole system to deposit the money from account of taxpayers to public exchequer.
The revenue board has selected a total of 26 commercial banks for online tax payment. 
The banks are Bank Asia, Basic Bank, Bangladesh Commerce Bank, Eastern Bank, IFIC bank, ICB Islamic Bank, Janata Bank, Jamuna Bank, Mercantile bank, Mutual Trust Bank, National Bank, NCC bank, Pubali bank, Shahjalal Islami Bank, Social Islami Bank, Standard Bank, State Bank of India, The City bank, Trust bank, Uttara Bank, Exim Bank, Citibank NA, Dhaka Bank, Southeast Bank, United Commercial Bank and BRAC Bank.
Taxpayers can pay tax through debit, credit or VISA card.
Standard Chartered Bank, HSBC and Dutch-Bangla Bank will be included in the process within a short time, officials said.
BBN/SSR/AD-10May12-10:05 am (BST)