Brisbane, Australia (BBN)-The much-expected Gabba match between Bangladesh and Australia may be about to experience a first hiccup due to inclement weather.
Bangladesh is set to play their second ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 match against the hosts and tournament favorites Australia at Gabba in Brisbane on Saturday.
Though the real deal is looming large, the chance to prove in the World stage has come and the baggage of memories from the past contains merely a single precious diamond, but it is Cyclone Marcia which may destroy all potentiality.
The World Cup’s local organising committee released a statement Friday afternoon concerning doubts over the match going ahead.
“ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 organisers are working closely with authorities in Queensland regarding tomorrow’s match between Australia and Bangladesh given the extreme weather situation in the State and the forecasts for ongoing rain in Brisbane,” a spokesman said.
“Our thoughts are with the people affected. However as there is no reserve day for pool matches, we will continue to prepare in the hope that the match can go ahead. The ICC match officials will make a decision on the match tomorrow based on conditions at the time,” said a report of espncricinfo.
“A match can be successfully completed if each side has minimum of 20 overs which means that it is still possible to achieve a result with a start after the scheduled innings break,” the report said.
A no-result would be a considerable boost to Bangladesh’s chances of progressing from Group A, particularly after England’s dismantling by New Zealand in Wellington on Friday.
In the backdrop of the situation, Australia’s captain Michael Clarke, due to return on his February 21 deadline to prove he has recovered from hamstring surgery, said, “So as much as we would like to get out on that field and continue our form in the World Cup, we need to realise how bad this cyclone is and care most about the people of Queensland, make sure everybody is healthy and safe and our prayers are with a lot of people throughout the State.
“Then we’ll worry about the cricket tomorrow. If we get on, we’ll be 100% ready there’s no doubt about that.”
On the other hand, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza said, “We are preparing to play a full match. We don’t want to play a curtailed game as forming a team combination becomes harder.
“We are disappointed with the rain but preparation difficulties have been there for both sides. But they are used to playing in these conditions and missing a few days wouldn’t matter to them,” he said.
Bangladesh’s resounding victory over Afghanistan has hardened their belief that they can repeat their stunning 2005 upset over Cricket World Cup heavyweights Australia.
“Just because Australia are tournament favourites doesn’t mean they can’t be beaten,” man-of-the-match wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim told reporters after his side’s 105-run win over World Cup debutants Afghanistan on Wednesday.
Bangladesh shocked the cricketing world back in 2005 when they beat Australia with four balls to spare in Cardiff.
The fringes of Cyclones Marcia and Lam drenched Brisbane on match eve, opening up real doubts about whether the fixture will be able to go ahead in even a limited form.
The Gabba’s drainage system is famously porous, but a pitch that has not seen any sunlight for three days is likely to be green and lively should the showers clear enough for play to go ahead.
Alongside Clarke’s return, Pat Cummins has been tipped to come in for Josh Hazlewood, though the conditions at the Gabba and the length of the match my also dictate other tweaks to the XI.
Australia (possible) 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Shane Watson, 4 Michael Clarke (capt), 5 Steven Smith, 6 Glenn Maxwell, 7 Mitchell Marsh, 8 Brad Haddin (wk), 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Pat Cummins.
With chance of a curtailed match increasing by the hour, an extra Bangladesh spinner could replace the extra batsman in anticipation of a Twenty20 style contest.
Bangladesh (probable): 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Anamul Haque, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Taijul Islam, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Rubel Hossain, 11 Taskin Ahmed
BBN/AS/ASI-21Feb15-12:50am (BST)