Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)- The biennial election to the Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA) began Sunday morning simultaneously in Dhaka and Chittagong BGMEA Bhabans.

General members of the BGMEA started to cast their votes from 8:00am and it will continue till 4:00pm without any break to decide the future leadership of the trade body for the next two-year term (2013-2014).

Bangladesh Textile Mills Association President Jahangir Alamin  is conducting the election as election commissioner.

Fifty-four candidates from two panels — Shammilto Parishad and Forum — are contesting the election.

In the two panels, 40 candidates from Dhaka zone and 14 from Chittagong zone are contesting for 27 posts of directors of the executive committee — 20 from the Dhaka zone and seven from the Chittagong zone.

The Shammilto Parishad is led by Atiqul Islam, a former vice president, while the Forum is led by Mahmud Hasan Khan Babu.

A total of 3,196 voters will cast their votes to elect 27 directors of the executive committee. Of the voters, 2592 are from Dhaka and 604 from Chittagong.

Under the existing provisions, the elected directors will select one president and four vice-presidents to run the association for two years.

Among the vice-presidents, one is elected from Chittagong region while others from Dhaka region.

BBN/SSR/AD-10Mar13-12:27 pm (BST)