Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)- The biennial election to the Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA) will be held on Sunday simultaneously in Dhaka and Chittagong BGMEA Bhabans. 
General members of the BGMA will cast their votes from 8:00am to 4:00pm without any break to decide the future leadership of the trade body for the next two-year term (2013-2014).
Fifty-four candidates from two panels — Shammilto Parishad and Forum — are contesting the election.
In the two panels, 40 candidates from Dhaka zone and 14 from Chittagong zone are contesting for 27 posts of directors of the executive committee – 20 from the Dhaka zone and seven from the Chittagong zone.
The Shammilto Parishad is led by Atiqul Islam, a former vice president, while the Forum is led by Mahmud Hasan Khan Babu.
A total of 3,196 voters will cast their votes to elect 27 directors of the executive committee. Of the voters, 2592 are from Dhaka and 604 from Chittagong. 
Under the existing provisions, the elected directors will select one president and four vice-presidents to run the association for two years.
Among the vice-presidents, one is elected from Chittagong region while others from Dhaka region.
Both the panel leaders have already expressed their commitment for the betterment of the sector and pledged to work with government removing the problems of the sector.
Asked about their priority areas if elected, Atiqul Islam said they would give priority to infrastructure development, resolving gas and electricity crises, ensuring workers safety, boosting efficiency and taking care of environmental issues. 
He said they will have a special focus on cutting the bank interest rate as the sector is losing competitiveness globally for various limitations. “I’ll try to utilize my 26 years of experience in the RMG sector for further development of the sector.” 
Current President of the BGMEA M Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin, former BGMEA presidents Tipu Munshi, MP and Abdus Salam Murshedy are supporting the Sammilito Parishad.
BGMEA former presidents Annisul Huq, Anisur Rahman Sinha, Hafiz Ahmed Mazumder and Anowar-ul Alam Chowdhury are backing the Forum panel. 
The Forum has vowed to bring about massive changes in the country’s apparel sector, if the panel is elected.
BBN/SSR/AD-09Mar13-9:20 pm (BST)