South Africa (BBN)-AB de Villiers will miss the upcoming Test series against Bangladesh after being granted paternity leave by Cricket South Africa, due to the impending birth of his first child.
He will, however, feature in the limited-overs matches and will captain the side in the three-match ODI series, reports the ESPNcricinfo.
Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander have been rested for the ODIs, and Steyn will also miss the T20 series.
South Africa have named four uncapped players – batsman Reeza Hendricks, wicketkeeper Dane Vilas, left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso and Under-19 fast bowler Kagiso Rabada – in the Test squad.
All four players have been capped by South Africa in limited-overs formats but are yet to play a Test.
Alviro Petersen’s retirement earlier this year and de Villiers’ absence had forced the changes, according to Andrew Hudson, CSA’s convener of selectors.
“Reeza and Stiaan van Zyl are both options to open the batting and Stiaan can also be used in AB’s batting position in the middle-order,” Hudson said.
“Dane provides us with the wicketkeeping cover that would normally also be AB’s responsibility.
“Aaron gives us a left-arm spin bowling option and we see this as the ideal opportunity to involve Kagiso in the Test team environment once again, so he will be the back-up fast bowling option.”
Rabada and fast bowler Chris Morris have been picked in the ODI team, while allrounder Ryan McLaren, who was not picked for the 2015 World Cup, has been recalled to the squad.
Eddie Leie, the 28-year-old legspinner, has been named in the T20 squad, which does not include Steyn, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir.
Hudson said Leie had been picked with an eye on next year’s World T20, which will be held in India.
“With next year’s ICC World Twenty20 to be played in India we need to explore our bowling options under sub-continent conditions,” Hudson said.
“Morris has done well in the IPL as have David Wiese and Beuran Hendricks and this tour represents an important opportunity to broaden their international playing experience.”
South Africa’s tour will begin with two T20 internationals on July 5 and 7 in Mirpur.
The three ODIs will be played on July 10, 12 and 15, in Mirpur and Chittagong.
The first Test starts in Chittagong from July 21, and the second match will be played in Mirpur from July 30.
SOUTH AFRICA TEST SQUAD: Hashim Amla (capt), Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Faf du Plessis, Stiaan van Zyl, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso, Simon Harmer, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Dane Vilas
ODI SQUAD: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla (vice-capt), Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren
T20 SQUAD: Faf du Plessis (capt), Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, David Miller, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Aaron Phangiso, Eddie Leie, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks