Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN): The Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE) members elected four new directors on Monday through direct voting.

The directors are: Sharif Anowar Hossain of Sahidullah Securities, Azizul Hoque of B & B Enterprise, Khugesta Nur-E-Naharin of Modern Securities and Shahed Abdul Khaleque of Shahed Securities.

A total of eight members of the DSE contested in the election for four directors’ posts. Out of 240 voters, 200 cast their votes.

Professor Abul Hashem of Dhaka University was the chief election commissioner of the election.

Meanwhile, the annual general meeting (AGM) of the DSE will be held on June 15, where the next president, a senior-vice president and a vice-president will be elected from 12 elected directors, including the new four, officials said.

According to the DSE constitution, the election must be held every year before the AGM.

The DSE board comprises 25 members. Of them, 12 are to be elected, 12 are nominated and one is ex-officio. According to the DSE rules, four directors retire every year and four others replace them through direct voting.

The posts of four directors have been vacated this year, as incumbent DSE President Md Rakibur Rahman, former president Ahmed Iqbal Hasan, directors Khwaja Ghulam Rasul and Sharif Ataur Rahman are retiring.

BBN/BB/AD/11June-13-10.20am (BST).