Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN) – The polls for electing four directors of Dhaka Stock Exchange will take place on Sunday on the country’s bourse premises.
A total of 229 people are expected to cast their votes for six candidates from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm without any break.
The candidates are ex-president of DSE and Chairman of Royal Green Securities Ltd Abdul Haque, Managing Director of Jahan Securities Md Shajahan, Managing Director of Shahidullah Securities Sharif Anowar Hossain, Managing Director of Rapid Securities Md Hanif Bhuiya, Managing Director of Global Securities Habib Abul Mushtaque and Managing Director of BLI Securities Minhaz Mannan Emon.
The posts of four directors will be vacated this year, as incumbent DSE president Shakil Rizvi and directors Abdul Haque, Mohammad Shahjahan and Rafiqul Islam are retiring.
On February 19 this year, a total of eight members of the DSE submitted their nomination papers to contest four director’s posts of DSE elections.
The DSE board comprises 25 members. Of them 12 are to be elected, 12 are nominated and one is ex-officio. According to the DSE rules, four directors retire every year and four others replace them through direct voting.
BBN/SSR/AD-11Mar12-8:30 am (BST)