Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)-The biennial election to the Board of Directors of Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) is going on peacefully at its Motijheel office in Dhaka on Saturday.

The voting began at 9:00am and will continue till 5:00pm without any break to elect 32 directors.

Three panels – Swadhinata Byabshayee Parishad, Unnayan Parishad and Byabshayee Oikya Parishad – are contesting the elections for the 2015-2017 term.

Incumbent First Vice-President of the FBCCI Monowara Hakim Ali leads the Swadhinata Byabshayee Parishad while Nitol Niloy Group Chairman Abdul Matlub Ahmad heads Unnayan Parishad and Bangladesh Indenting Agents Association President Syed Moazzam Hossain guides Byabshayee Oikya Parishad.

A total of 52 directors will form the Board of the country’s highest trade body.

Of which, 32 directors will be elected in direct election – some 16 each from chamber groups and association bodies – while 20 others directors will be nominated from different chambers and associations of the country.

A total of 66 candidates are contesting for the posts of 32 directors (16 from chamber group and 16 from association group) under the banner of three separate panels.

A total of 2,193 voters will cast their ballots to elect the directors, said the primary voter list published in March 30.

Of them, 430 voters are from 78 chambers while 1,763 voters are from 355 different associations.

Like every year, lawmaker Professor Ali Ashraf became the election commissioner to conduct the elections.

The elected and nominated directors will elect the president, first vice-president and vice-president among themselves on May 25.

The result will be announced May 28.