New Delhi, India (BBN) – The seventh season of Indian Premier League IPL-7) starts in the UAE on Wednesday.

Eight participating teams: Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Daredevils, Kings Eleven Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad will be in action over the fortnight in the tournament.

In all, 20 matches will be played during April 16-30 in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah.

Defending champions Mumbai Indians take on last years' runners up Kolkata Knight Riders in the opening match at Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

BBN/SSR/AD-15Apr14-11:56 pm (BST)