Kolkata (BBN)-Chennai Super Kings faltered in an IPL final for the fourth time as they went down to Mumbai Indians by 41 runs in the summit clash at the Eden Gardens on Sunday.
MI thus joined Kolkata Knight Riders and CSK to become the third team to win the IPL twice, reports The Times of India.
Lendl Simmons struck 68 off 45 balls in the final and captain Rohit Sharma added 50 off 26 as Mumbai posted 202-5.
Dwayne Smith’s 57 was in vain for MS Dhoni’s Chennai, who could only make 161-8 in their 20 overs in Kolkata.
Mitchell McClenaghan took 3-25 as Mumbai, coached by Ricky Ponting, capped a superb turnaround having been bottom of the table after two games.