Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)- Nine candidates have been nominated for the post of Director-General (DG) of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) from nine countries to succeed the current DG, Pascal Lamy.
One of the nine candidates will succeed Lamy whose term of office expires on 31 August 2013, the WTO said.
The candidates have been nominated by their respective countries from Asia, Australasia, Africa, South America and Middle East.
The nominated persons are Mari Elka Pangestu (minister of tourism and creative economy, Indonesia) Taeho Bark (trade minister, South Korea), Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen (cabinet minister, Ghana), Anabel Gonz lez (foreign minister, Costa Rica), Tim Groser (former minister, New Zealand), Amina C. Mohamed (Kenyan Envoy to UN), Ahmad Thougan Hindawi (former industries minister, Jordan), Herminio Blanco (former minister, Mexico) and Roberto Carvalho de Azev^do (career diplomat, Brazil).
A formal General Council meeting will be held on 29 January 2013 where candidates will present themselves to the membership.The selection process will conclude with a decision by the General Council no later than 31 May 2013.
BBN/SSR/AD-06Jan13-11:25 am (BST)