Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)– The government has announced public holiday on February 17 in the capital Dhaka for opening ceremony of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Bangladesh, which co-hosts the mega cricket event for the first time along with India and Sri Lanka, will also hold the prestigious opening ceremony at the Bangabandhu National Stadium. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will formally inaugurate the 14-nation meet through a colorful 135-minute opening ceremony.

Bangladesh will also host eight matches – six matches including two quarter-finals in Dhaka, and two matches in the country’s port city Chittagong.

BBN/SI/SSR-06Feb11-10:28 am (BST)