Dhaka, Bangladesh (BBN)- The second ministerial meeting of the Centre on Integrated Development for Asia and the Pacific (CIRDAP) will begin in the capital, Dhaka on Sunday, organizers said on Saturday.

Rural development ministers and/or their representatives from all 14 CIRDAP member countries are expected to join in the five-day long meeting, hosted by the Bangladesh government with the support from the government of Japan.

The theme of the high-profile meeting is ‘Working Together for Sustainable Rural Development,’ Director General of the CIRDAP Durga P Paudyal said at a press conference in Dhaka.

CIRDAP member countries are – Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Vietnam, Lao PDR, Thailand, Sri Lanka, the Philippines, Malaysia and Indonesia.

Mr. Paudyal also said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will formally inaugurate the ministerial meeting on January 27.

A total of 12 ministers out of 14 CIRDAP member countries and about 45 donor agency representatives will attend the meeting.

In 1987, the first Bangladesh-CIRDAP ministers’ meeting on rural development in Asia-Pacific adopted a Dhaka declaration, which focused on economic growth with equity through people’s participation as the basic element for alleviation of rural poverty.

BBN/SS/SI/AD-24January10-2:14 am (BST)