Fatullah, Bangladesh (BBN)-The fourth day play of the one-off Test between Bangladesh and India was called off due to incessant rain at Fatullah on Saturday.
Rain washed out the entire second session to leave Bangladesh stranded on 111/3 in their first innings as early lunch was taken at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium.
After the lunch break, the hosts could not resume the play due to the rain.
A total of 30.1 overs were bowled in the first session of the day that started thirty minutes early to make up for the lost overs.
Imrul Kayes (59) and Shakib Al Hasan (0) were at the crease when play was stopped due to rain and early lunch was taken.
The fourth day’s proceedings started with India declaring their first innings at the overnight score of 462/6.
Ishant Sharma opened the bowling for India but with two more pacers in their ranks, it was Ravichandran Ashwin, who bowled the second over.
When he reached the score of 7 in the third over, Tamim Iqbal became the highest run-getter for Bangladesh going past Habibul Bashar.
But Ashwin justified Virat Kohli’s faith and had Iqbal stumped in his third over.
Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim was also sent back to pavilion after Mominul that seemingly made Imrul’s effort to make Bangladesh stable a big futile.
Bangladesh trail by 351 runs with 7 wickets remaining in the 1st innings.
Rain, like other days, interrupted the quick start of Bangladesh minutes after Tamim was sent back to pavilion only for 19.
Indian batsmen have dominated proceedings over three rain-hit days of cricket against Bangladesh.
There are 196 overs left in this Test match. There is no guarantee of course that all of those overs will be possible given the weather conditions in Fatullah.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt.), 5 Litton Das (wk), 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Soumya Sarkar, 8 Shuvagata Hom, 9 Jubair Hossain, 10 Taijul Islam, 11 Mohammad Shahid
India: 1 M Vijay, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Rohit Sharma, 4 Virat Kohli (capt.), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 7 R Ashwin, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 10 Ishant Sharma, 10 Varun Aaron, 11 Umesh Yadav