Chittagong, Bangladesh (BBN)-Visiting Zimbabwe have shown their confidence crossing 100 runs after their early setback at the end of second day of their third Test against Bangladesh.

Brian Chari was removed early during their first innings on Thursday.

The visiting team scored 113 only with a loss, exhibiting their performance at 26 overs.

Earlier, during the beginning of Zimbabwe’s first innings, Rubel Hossain showed his power removing opener Brian when Zimbabwe was chasing 503 runs set by the host at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.

Bangladesh folded their first innings scoring 503 runs.

Ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan scored his 17th test fifty in the innings.

Earlier on Wednesday, Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat.

Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes, the openers, made history Wednesday in the Bangladesh’s Test cricket scoring centuries.

Tigers are trying to maintain their dominance over Zimbabwe eyeing an achievement of first 3-0 series whitewash.

Bangladesh set the aim after having won their third-ever Test cricket series against Zimbabwe.

Tigers won the first Test in three days in Dhaka, and the second by 162 runs in Khulna last week, adding to a 1-0 two-Test series win against the same team in 2005.

Bangladesh have swept a series only once in their 14-year Test history when they defeated an under-strength West Indies in both matches in the Caribbean in 2009.

In the 87 Tests they have played so far since their debut in 2000, Bangladesh have won just six matches, lost 70 and drawn 11.

Zimbabwe have yielded to spin in the matches, and Bangladesh may field only one fast bowler because the Chittagong pitch tends to become slow and low.

Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor hoped his batsmen and bowlers will shine together to reverse the team’s fortunes.

Shakib, who became the third cricketer in Test history to score a century and haul in 10 wickets in the last Test, was simply unplayable for the Zimbabwe batsmen.

But Zimbabwe still hope to nullify his threat, win the Test, and regain some form for the five-match One-day International series.


BANGLADESH: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Shuvagata Hom, Taijul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Jubair Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Marshall Ayub, Anamul Haque.

ZIMBABWE: Sikandar Raza, Brian Chari, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (captain), Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura, Regis Chakabva, Malcolm Waller, Tendai Chatara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Shingi Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Natsai Mushangwe, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand).

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka).

Match referee: Chris Broad (England).

BBN/ASI/AD-13Nov14-7:00pm (BST)