ICC WC 2015 Pak vs Zim Photo: Getty Images
Brisbane, Australia (BBN)-Zimbabwe are struggling to meet the 236 target set by Pakistan in the 23rd match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Brisbane on Sunday.
Zimbabwe scored 166 runs in 36.5 overs when this report was updated at 4:37pm (BST).
Craig Ervine and Elton Chigumbura are now at the crease.
Earlier, Pakistan set 236-run target for seven in 50 overs in their Pool B match.
Pakistan had to struggle a lot to pile the total as Zimbabwe took full control over them taking 7 in 50 overs in their Pool B match in Gabba of Australia.
Pakistan opted to bat in hopes of putting up a total against Zimbabwe, but continuing their dismal performance, the game got off to a tumbling start with Pakistan losing Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shahzad with only four runs on the scoreboard.
Later, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood and Misbah-ul-Haq’s followed them.
Geo tv adds: It seems captain Misbah-ul-Haq’s decision to bat first isn’t going Pakistan’s way in this critical World Cup fixture here on Sunday.
Pakistan have made one change from the last match against West Indies as fast bowler Rahat Ali is in and senior batsman Younis Khan is out.
Captain Misbah, who is on the crease with Haris Sohail, has urged his side to follow the example of Imran Khan´s victorious team, who won the World Cup when the tournament was last staged in Australia and New Zealand 23 years ago.
Pakistan, engulfed by a series of on and off-field controversies, which saw eight squad members fined for breaking a curfew and chief selector Moin Khan sent home for visiting a casino, have lost both of their opening matches – by 76 runs to India and 150 runs against the West Indies.
They are bottom of Pool B and defeat by Zimbabwe at Brisbane´s Gabba ground on Sunday will virtually condemn them to an early exit.
Both Pakistan openers, Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shehzad got out without bothering scorers too much.
Jamshed was first to go who scored just 1 run.
Shehzad followed him shortly without opening his account.
Chatara took both wickets.
Pakistan: Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Haris Sohail, Misbah-ul-Haq (C), Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal (wk), Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan
Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha, Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (wk), Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura (C), Solomon Mire, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara
BBN/SK/ANS-01Mar15-4:40pm (BST)